History and Purpose

b3The University of Texas-Pan American Foundation is an independent nonprofit organization incorporated in the State of Texas under the Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3).

The Foundation was chartered in 1982 under the leadership of Pan American University President Miguel Nevarez and Vice President for Institutional Advancement T. Edward Mercer to raise, manage and invest funds for charitable, educational and scientific purposes to benefit Pan American University, and its mission remained the same after Pan American’s merger with The University of Texas System in 1989. 

As a private nonprofit organization, the Foundation exists solely for the benefit of UT Pan American, raising funds to create endowments and to augment University programs. As such, it operates in a politically neutral, less restrictive environment and can carry out its mission efficiently and effectively. By maintaining an independent Board of Trustees organized with operating committees, the Foundation can effectively involve interested volunteers in its fundraising efforts and create within them a sense of pride, accomplishment, and ownership – all of which are critical to fundraising success.

All funds raised and managed by the Foundation are used in accordance with donor wishes to build the academic, research and public service programs of The University of Texas-Pan American.  The beneficiaries of these efforts are the students and faculty of the University, local communities on both sides of the border, the State of Texas and, in some cases, the nation.

The Internal Revenue Service recognizes The University of Texas-Pan American Foundation as a tax-exempt 501(c)(3) charitable organization. Contributions to the University through the Foundation by individuals, corporations and other foundations are qualified for tax deduction. The Foundation’s IRS identification number is 74-2246970.  

Founding Trustees

Margaret L. McAllen, Weslaco, Texas
Victor Neuhaus, Houston, Texas
Fausto Yturria, Jr., Brownsville, Texas

Past Chairmen

1982-1984       Fausto Yturria, Jr., Brownsville, Texas
1985-1990       Bill Ellis, Jr., Mission, Texas
1990-1992       A.R. (Felo) Guerra, Linn, Texas
1992-1994       John Martin, Edinburg, Texas
1994-1997       Morgan Talbot, McAllen, Texas
1998-1999       Jon Dee Lawrence, Austin, Texas
2000-2002       Roel (Roy) Martinez, McAllen, Texas
2003-2005       Joe Ramirez, Summit, New Jersey
2005-2008       R. David Guerra, McAllen, Texas


Latest News